FAQ: In Orthopedics, What Does Subsequent Encounter Mean?

What does subsequent encounter mean in medical terms?

Example 2: A subsequent encounter (character “D”) describes an episode of care during which the patient receives routine care for her or his condition during the healing or recovery phase.

What does subsequent treatment mean?

Subsequent therapy ( subsequent treatment ) is defined as therapy that is administered after the first course of therapy is completed, stopped, or changed.

What is the difference between initial treatment and subsequent treatment?

Subsequent encounter. Use this for encounters after the physician performs the initial treatment, but the patient continues to receive care during the healing or recovery phase (e.g., cast change/removal, removal of fixation, medication adjustment).

How do you code a subsequent encounter?

When this patient returns a week later for aftercare to check on the status of the wound, the code would change to S80. 811D for “ subsequent encounter.” If the patient suffered some complication as a result of the abrasion, but the abrasion is no longer in need of treatment, then the code would be S80. 811S.

You might be interested:  FAQ: What Is Cmp Orthopedics?

What is the difference between sequela and subsequent encounter?

D ( subsequent encounter ) describes any encounter after the active phase of treatment, when the patient is receiving routine care for the injury during the period of healing or recovery. S ( sequela ) indicates a complication or condition that arises as a direct result of an injury.

What is a subsequent encounter?

ICD-10-CM defines subsequent encounters as “encounters after the patient has received active treatment of the injury and is receiving routine care for the injury during the healing or recovery phase. When the patient is following the plan, that is subsequent.

How do you use subsequent?

Subsequent sentence example

  1. Almost nothing is known of the subsequent history of the poet.
  2. The rate of subsequent pregnancies is high.
  3. Subsequent to the wedding, there was a large reception.
  4. In subsequent years the motor industry attained considerable proportions.

What means subsequent?

: following in time, order, or place subsequent events a subsequent clause in the treaty.

What does subsequent week mean?

adj occurring after; succeeding. (C15: from Latin subsequens following on, from subsequi, from sub- near + sequi to follow)

When coding a sequela what comes first?

Coding of sequela generally requires two codes sequenced in the following order: The condition or nature of the sequela is sequenced first. The sequela code is sequenced second.

Can sequela codes be primary?

According to the ICD-10-CM Manual guidelines, a sequela (7th character “S”) code cannot be listed as the primary, first listed, or principal diagnosis on a claim, nor can it be the only diagnosis on a claim.

What are sequela codes?

A sequela is the residual effect (condition produced) after the acute phase of an illness or injury has terminated. There is no time limit on when a sequela code can be used. The residual may be apparent early, such as in cerebral infarction, or it may occur months or years later, such as that due to a previous injury.

You might be interested:  How To Get Rid Of Gas Pain In Upper Back?

Should coders burn when coding?

You must sequence your codes as 942.33 (3rd degree burn of the abdomen), 943.21 (2nd degree burn of the forearm), 944.11(1st degree burn of the index finger). Note: You should only code for the highest level burn when you assign multiple burns of differing degrees (severity) in the same body area.

What are ICD 10 T codes?

Anatomy of ICD-10 Codes

A & B Infectious and Parasitic Diseases
R Symptoms, Signs and Abnormal Clinical and Lab Findings
S Injury, Poisoning, Certain Other Consequences of External Causes
T Injury, Poisoning, Certain Other Consequences of External Causes
U no codes listed, will be used for emergency code additions


What code set does CPT fall under?

In 1983, CPT was adopted as part of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS). This HCPCS code set is divided into two principal subsystems: (1) Level I of the HCPCS, which comprised the CPT and (2) Level II of the HCPCS (see Marcia Nusgart’s article).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *